Psychological Solutions For A Better Life

Th_counselling starwars It's a rainy Saturday in Auckland.I am sitting at the computer, someone gives a very skillful rendition of a piece by Schubert on the radio, and my coffee is freshly brewed. I love this kind of day. It excuses me from garden work and invites me to play around on the net. Because I want to discuss therapy this month, I am snooping around the net a bit. First thing I comes across is a blogpost at 'Before you take that Pill about a group of psychologists/psychiatrists applying to the DSM-IV committee to get the diagnosis of DID (Dissociative Identity Disorder) removed from the next edition. That gets my juices flowing as you might gather from my comment on that blog.

Whenever I am getting disheartened about all the rubbish that is floating around about therapy on radio talk-back, newspaper, internet, and people in general, I hop on to the talking cure site and get myself a little dose of encouragement. Who can keep an earnest face when you read:

In the last update of the ISTC website, we indicated that anyone who questioned whether psychotherapy worked should be told that the research says, "Shut Up!"

Hey, if bean counter says to you, "Therapy doesn't work anyway. All your research was done in labs" just tell them that the research literature says, "Shut Up!"

Be assured, I am not going to launch into a debate whether therapy works or not, or whether psychodynamic is better than CBT, drugs, or EFT, or try to convince people that outcome research clearly identified that …xyz! Instead, I thought I'll share today what my clients who have been diagnosed with Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID,formerly Multiple Personality Disorder, recently re-coined by me for no particular reason as the "Little Red Riding Hood Syndrome (LRRHS)")* have taught me about therapy.

Th_7889Therapy-Posters Those of the readers who do not believe in DID or LRRHS will probably feel a little bit challenged by the concept that something can be learned from something that does not exist, but that can't be helped.

What can you expect? I will share with you the core principles of healing emotional and mental distress. After you've read the following posts you will probably say "Is that all?" and feel a bit cheated. Well according to my experience, that's it! But be warned. Although it's a simple concept, it's not easy to put into action. I hope I have tickled your appetite. Enjoy reading the following posts 🙂

*Little Red Riding Hood Syndrome because it is as good a name as any other. Nobody seems to warm particularly to DID. Although the Multiple may have a fragmented sense of self, the different parts are not disordered. In the contrary, there is a lot of order and structure involved.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

