Psychological Solutions For A Better Life

SET YOUR GOALS EFFECTIVELY

Goal setting is a very interesting exercise. Whether you make life changing goals like where to live, you aim for smaller goals like what to do next weekend, or you are interested in therapeutic goals like being more in control of your life, the process of goal setting is the same.

Why is goal setting important? 

  1. It will give you a sense of direction.
  2. It will give focus to your actions.
  3. By reflecting on your goals you will often become aware of the next steps u need to take to achieve them.

State Your Goal(s) In Positive Terms! If the saying "you get what you focus on" is right – and I believe it is – you need to focus on what you want instead of what you don't want! For example, state you goal as "I want to eat 5 healthy meals a day" instead of "I don't want to overeat". ( For some people that is much more difficult than they think. Negative thinking can be a pervasive habit that takes some effort to break. Avoid the positively negative trap as in "I want to not get upset about my child's untidy room".)

Be Simple And Specific! Formulate you goal in ways that allows you to check on how well you are on you way to achieving it. "I want to be happy" as a goal is not specific enough, because how will you know that you have achieved you goal?   

Make You Goal Measurable And Meaningful To You! If you want to be able to be assertive, how will you know? State your goal including those actions that tell you that you are assertive. For example I will tell my friend that I want a more equal relationship.

Check whether you goal is self-initiated and self-maintained and that it is only for you. You can't have a goal for somebody else, i.e. I want my partner to communicate better!

Make Your Goal Achievable! It is no use if you are 45 years old to take up ballet dancing to become a prima ballerina. It won't work! Sorry!

Be specific in the evidence procedure. How will you know when you have achieved your goal?

Do you have the resources to achieve you goal? What do you need to get your outcome?

Be Realistic! Imagine you have achieved you goal now. What will you see, hear, and feel? Make it compelling. See yourself how you would be in a future situation having achieved this goal.

Is Your Goal In A Time Frame And Towards What You Want? Set yourself a realistic time frame for achieving you goal. Check out with yourself for what purpose you want this. Ask :

What will happen if I get it?
What won't happen if I get it?
What will happen if I don't get it?
What won't happen if I don't get it?

Congratulations! You have completed the goal setting and are hopefully well on your way in achieving the outcome you are looking for!

If you would like assistance with achieving your goal(s) then use this link to CONTACT ME. I might be able to assist you myself or direct you to somebody who can.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

